renatoa
04/18/2024 12:36 AM
greyberry2, N C, welcome cup

renatoa
04/17/2024 9:27 AM
morning, branchu

renatoa
04/14/2024 5:56 AM
TheOtherJim and papajim, welcome to forum !

allenb
04/11/2024 6:33 PM
Zemona Welcome

renatoa
04/11/2024 9:19 AM
Mrbones and sgupta, coffee drink ?

In Memory Of Ginny
Donations

Latest Donations
dmccallum - 10.00
JackH - 25.00
snwcmpr - 10.00
Anonymous - 2.00
Anonymous - 5.00
Users Online
Guests Online: 2

Members Online: 0

Total Members: 8,210
Newest Member: N C

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
tips - cheap unit to measure voltage/current/kilowatts used by roaster
craftbrewer
Hey all,

I've been roasting on my I-roast 2 for about 3 months and loving the coffee. (Favorite so far is shown at the bottom of this post)

Anyway, my TIP ON NORMALIZING TO VOLTAGE IS AS FOLLOWS:
buy an energy meter. I have one because its a great way to measure the electricity users in your house, like old fridges, leaving stereos or computers in standby, etc which can suck energy.

http://www.amazon...B00009MDBU

The reason I think it is worth mentioning is I kept reading about VOLTAGE and how it is different for everyone... changes the roast times, blah blah, big variable in the roast, etc.

Well, I wanted to throw that idea out there, for anyone on a crappy power system who might experience voltage swings.. I use the SAME PLUG everytime.. Because what I found is the LENGTH OF WIRE TO THE PLUG changes the voltage.. think of it like a water hose. the more water hose you have, the less pressure at the end of the hose.

With my system I get the following readings:
Not operating: 122 volts, 0 amps
At startup (full speed on fan): 116.5-117 volts, 12.38-12.4 amps
During roast (fan at reduced speed): 116.5-117 volts, 12.1 amps