Members Online: 0

Total Members: 8,169
Newest Member: meichacker

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Heat Gun Deal
Rob_D7
Hello all this is my first post. I am new to roasting, did a few weeks with the air popper then moved on to the BM/HG and am loving the coffee. There a ton of great info here so I wanted to contribute.

The Harbor Freight ad that just came in the mail had the 1500 Watt heat gun on sale $10. This is the one I am using.

On another note... Has anyone ever purchased beans from Balzac Brothers. They have a warehouse in my town.

Regards
Edited by Rob_D7 on 03/03/2009 9:55 PM

John Despres
Welcome, Rob!

I might suggest a second orange heat gun in the event yours goes out in the middle of a batch. Since HF guarantees their stuff, your $20.00 investment should last forever, cycling it through that way.

Have fun and tell us about your roasts. Do you have a favorite yet?

I've read Balzac, but never bought coffee from the Brothers.
Respect the bean.
John Despres
Fresh Roast 8, Gene Cafe, JYTT 1k, Quest M3, Mazzer Mini, Technivorm, various size presses and many more brewers.

BoldJava
I tried a couple of Balzac samples but didn't care for them. Really not a fair chance since I was after their Dominicans and Dominicans are spotty at best.

Stop in and make their acquaintance.

Welcome to the board!.

B|Java
http://sidewalkmy...
Dave Borton
Milwaukee, WI

cfsheridan
Balzac does have good coffees, but you've got to really shake their listing to find them. Great bunch of folks--they'll talk your ear off at times.

They get decent Java lots--Blawan estate the last two years cupped well. I haven't looked at their offering list in a while--been too swamped with other vendors.

If you're in Charleston (couldn't tell by your profile), then I'd suggest you try to stop by to participate in their cuppings. That would give you the best sense of what good beans they've got on the table.

Rob_D7