Anonymous - 5.00
Anonymous - 5.00

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
An attempt at a small drum roaster
muddyfeet
Here's the story:
I've been an espresso lover for a while now. (I brew drip and press coffee too!) 3 years ago, I wore out my home department-store espresso machine and after much researching bought a Silvia, broken(not really broken....just neglected) but cheap (relatively). I fixed it, added a matching rocky grinder, PID'd it, and modded some more. A few years of practice and I am able to pull some delightful shots (always improving). This last spring I graduated school in Iowa and matched with a training program out here in the NW. I visited Seattle in April to look for places to live, but had to stop by a few establishments in town(vivace, stumptown) to taste everything I'd read about. I brought some beans back to Iowa and discovered for myself the incredible difference that a fresh (3-day-old) roasted bean can make. I was hooked, but I didn't want to order fresh beans online twice a month. I came across Homeroasters.org and began to think about building my own roaster. I began collecting parts at thrift/junk stores, and from eBay. In July I moved out here and started work. I'm busy as ever, but when I get a few hours to myself I like to wind down by tinkering in the garage...on my roaster!

My wife is probably sick of hearing me tell her of every little bit of progress that I make, so I thought I'd share it with you all, and hopefully bounce ideas around. My design draws from several ideas I've seen here, but none more than rcwarship's 3/4lb build log. I'd like to tip my hat to Jon and say that I admire his creativity, as well as his building skill (roasters and boats!).
muddyfeet attached the following image:
imag0060.jpg

Edited by muddyfeet on 12/15/2017 11:05 PM
muddyfeet