Print Thread
Weather, Data Logging, etc
jzuzphreek
Hi all. I'm pretty new to roasting, but I've been getting the hang of it. I don't have a large budget, but I've grown to enjoy my time outside with my spoon, my bowl, and my heat gun. Living in New Orleans, and having a covered patio, weather isn't much of a concern for me, as far as my ability to go outside and roast. My problem is that when we do have a cold snap (like last weekend), I don't have an effective way to retain heat in my bowl. My 3/4 lb roast took 17 minutes just to reach first crack, and 31 minutes overall! And that was just to the onset of 2nd crack! The flavor of the coffee wasn't "bad" but I wouldn't call it good either.

So my question is this, what sort of thermometer tools should I look into? I know I need to monitor the ambient temperature in and around the bowl, but I also need to monitor the temperature of the beans. Since I'm bound to manually stirring, thermometers tend to get in the way. What are my options? Any advice is MUCH appreciated.
Jessy

IN PRAISE OF COFFEE

This is the beverage of the friends of God; it gives health to those in its service who strive after wisdom.

The intelligent man who empties these cups of foaming coffee, he alone knows the truth.

JimG
I built a few insulated steel bowls with thermocouples welded to them. The thermocouple is on the bottom, outside of the main bowl. Then there is an insulated air space around 1/8" thick between the main bowl and the outside bowl. So the thermocouple is protected, and the bowl is insulated.

So...I was pretty sure these bowls would be the Next Great Thing for home roasters. Wrong.

Now, the Next Great Thing for me would be to get them outta here because they are taking up room on my overflowing shelves.

I also have a never-used type K digital thermometer (the one Sweet Maria's sells) that works with the thermocouple on the steel bowl.