Guests Online: 8

Members Online: 0

Total Members: 7,788
Newest Member: ediblemanager

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
Stir-Crazy Popper - no TurboOven
Do you like the suggested mod? Do you like the suggested mod? 33%[1 Vote]
Are you planning to make one like this? Are you planning to make one like this? 33%[1 Vote]
Did you make one like this? Did you make one like this? 33%[1 Vote]
Total Votes : 3
 Print Thread
Stir-Crazy popper without TurboOven
xengineer
Hi all PopperRoasters! I am a new member, and would like to share the details of my modified Stir-Crazy popper for coffee roasting.

INTRO: Being a retired electrical engineer, I started with an evaluation of the Stir-Crazy that I bought second-hand, but essentially new condition. I measured the power consumption, which was found to be just under 600 W. I also measured the heating/temperature profile in time, using a precision Platinum resistive sensor (see attached plot). I found that the achievable temperature is more than sufficient for coffee roasting (>250C/482F). The built-in thermal switch will turn off the heater at that temperature in about 4-5 minutes, then let it fall to about 180C/356F before it switches it back on, repeating the cycle, though it will not reach the previous high again due to improved thermal equilibrium. Therefore the long-term average will be about 200-210C/392-410F. This is why previous attempts were unsuccessful using its built-in heater for coffee roasting (reports of >60 minutes roasting time).