Members Online: 0

Total Members: 7,786
Newest Member: Zabbaskeema

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Ambex YM2 LP gas options
Dash08pilot
I've been roasting on an Ambex YM2 for around 10 years now. It is setup up to run on LP. Prior to our recent move, it was hooked up to a 120 gallon lp tank. Now that my roaster is in a temporary location, my best option for lp is a 20lb grill tank. Anybody know if this option will work? If so, what size regulator would I need? I believed it is rated up to 20,000 BTU. I am in desperate need of fresh coffee. I ran out a week ago. coffee drink

allenb
Dash, Welcome to HRO!

Most of the adjustable high pressure propane regulators will handle the throughput but what pressure were you feeding the roaster when connected to the 120 gallon tank? You'll need to pick a reg that will output that range of pressure. And yes, a 20 lb tank should work fine and last quite a while.

Allen
1/2 lb and 1 lb drum, Siemens Sirocco fluidbed, presspot, chemex, cajun biggin brewer from the backwoods of Louisiana

Dash08pilot
I am not sure what the pressure was. I had the LP gas company hook up the roaster. I did not think to get the regulator type prior to moving. I put a call into Ambex, but have had no response from them yet. Thanks for your reply.

boar_d_laze

Dash08pilot wrote:

I've been roasting on an Ambex YM2 for around 10 years now. It is setup up to run on LP. Prior to our recent move, it was hooked up to a 120 gallon lp tank. Now that my roaster is in a temporary location, my best option for lp is a 20lb grill tank. Anybody know if this option will work? If so, what size regulator would I need? I believed it is rated up to 20,000 BTU. I am in desperate need of fresh coffee. I ran out a week ago. coffee drink

Yes a 20lb tank will work. LP is LP.