Members Online: 0

Total Members: 8,165
Newest Member: Ramper

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
BLENDING COFFEE FOR ROASTING
ChicagoJohn
I looked through the various topics and could not find one that was ideal for this concept. If I missed it, it wouldn't be the first time :) Just let me know where.

But anyway, as a total newbie to coffee roasting, I've had some roasts I thought about throwing in the trash can. Some were too light -- too much acid, too much "crack" in compressive strength in my little hand crank grinder -- too light. And some others were too "well done"; very charcoal-like and easy to crush when grinding in my hand crank grinder; morphology of the bean structure mortified. These were never "burned" in flavor but they were very "flat". I can't remember anymore what the "Eight O'clock" beans I was grinding and brewing before in my Mr. Coffee even tasted like, but I think it may have been like this....

But my point is that sometimes I don't throw away the extremes; I just decide to drink them. And sometimes I take one Aeropress scoop of A and one of B and grind them together. There have been a number of these occasions upon which the result has been "my perfect cup".

So my question to those who unlike me have been doing this for years, not weeks, is whether there is a theory or strategy to making a blend. Someone like Tim Wendelboe may say, "we don't believe in blending beans any more than one would blend wines". Yet people do blend wines, and I, in my na?ve state regarding coffee, am only interested in the best taste experience I can have in the morning, not particularly discerning the nuances of this or that single origin; not that there's anything wrong with that.

One would hope that "coffee" presents a very broad spectrum of interests.