You must login to post a message.

10/21/2021 2:41 AM
muckymuck, mckinleyharris and williamjonex welcome cup

10/19/2021 6:22 AM
Welcome tarunk!

10/17/2021 12:40 PM
Ploni and nader fouad, Welcome!

10/15/2021 2:19 AM
merlot85, maycondelpiero and hoeltz, Welcome !

10/14/2021 10:06 AM
Thanks for the addition to the group. Seriously considering building a drum roaster along the lines of oldgrumpus's. Love the design and craftsmanship.

In Memory Of Ginny
Donations

Latest Donations
JackH - 25.00
snwcmpr - 10.00
Anonymous - 2.00
Anonymous - 5.00
Anonymous - 5.00
Users Online
Guests Online: 22

Members Online: 0

Total Members: 7,368
Newest Member: williamjonex

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Declining ROR on Quest M3
James211
Has anyone had any luck getting a declining ROR on the quest? I'm pretty new to the quest, and haven't had any luck yet.

My setup:
Quest M3
Artisan Roaster Software
Eric S. Probes
SSR Controlled Element via TC4/Arduino
BenKeith
Lets make sure we are on the same page here.
When you say declining RoR, (degrees per minute the bean temp is increasing) you are referring to starting off with say a RoR of 40, then it drop to say a 25, toward the end of drying phase for the Maillard phase and say a 10 after FC for the development phase.
If this is what you are referring to and you are not getting that, you have issues that need to be figured out.
Now, I don't use a QuestM3, but any roaster should be doing this when properly set up.
BenKeith
I'm also need to correct some of the stuff I told you and hope you are not trying to do it. I was under the impression you were dealing with an air roaster, not an electric heated drum roaster, and you can not use those heat strategies on that Quest that I suggested. You will have to use the temps and soaks to setup your roast profiles. You will set those so they increase and degrease during certain points in the roast to give you a declining RoR on the beans.
James211