renatoa
04/18/2024 12:36 AM
bijurexim, greyberry2, N C, welcome2

renatoa
04/17/2024 9:27 AM
morning, branchu

renatoa
04/14/2024 5:56 AM
TheOtherJim and papajim, welcome to forum !

allenb
04/11/2024 6:33 PM
Zemona Welcome

In Memory Of Ginny
Donations

Latest Donations
dmccallum - 10.00
JackH - 25.00
snwcmpr - 10.00
Anonymous - 2.00
Anonymous - 5.00
Users Online
Guests Online: 5

Members Online: 0

Total Members: 8,212
Newest Member: eximwind

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Novice Roaster Help
robertobarnez
Hello everyone
I have been roasting for several months on a stovetop with a WhirlyPop popcorn popper.

Apart from the first 2-3 (which were not roasts but rather burns) I have been able to produce fairly good consistent results.

Generally, I am roasting Mexican coffee from Chiapas, Oaxaca and/or Veracruz to a City-Full City roast. My batches are smaller about 9-10oz at a time.

I place the popper on top of an old frying pan because I found that that way I am able to better control temperature,
to avoid sudden changes and/or burning. The temperature raises and lowers more gradually because the flame
is not direct. I monitor the temperature by an infrared temp gun. Now that I have a bit more experience I generally do not monitor as closely the temp but follow the roast by sight & smell. Whenever I check the temp I have to open the popper & I lose heat, so I try to avoid this.

A typical roast:
Time (Min) Temp (F) Flame (%) OBSERVATION
0m 400 100 Start time, beans dropped, drop temp 400F
1 200 50 Flame reduced
5 250 100 Flame increased
10 275 100 Drying phase
15 325 100 *12-20 avg first crack
20 400 100 *15-25 2nd crack
25 400+ 100 *Max time 25min

Typical result:
Depending on the particularities of the coffee, origin, etc there are slight variances in the results above,
most especially in the time length. Generally, I try to follow the roasting profile curve (typical S) but evidently with