Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Yet Another 250g-500gm FB Roaster
PhilH
I have been making espresso's on a variety of machines for many years and current home setup is DallaCorte Mini / K10Fresh. I am new to roasting but I was inspired to build a roaster after talking to a friend who uses a breadmaker / heat gun manual roaster. After looking at the incredible number of amazing roasters on this site I decided decided on a LPG fired FB roaster. I hope to be able to do 250g to 1kg batches.

I liked the look of AllenBs and Omegas and Tamarians FB roasters and that will account for the similarities (ie stealing their great ideas).

Mine consists of:
RC - S/Steel Pipe 98mm dia (ID) x550mm x1.8mm (W.T.) from recycler
Diffuser plate ? 1.8mm S/Steel with separate ramp (copied from Omegas design)
Blower - Panasonic 1000W VC blower (free)
Fan Speed - 3000W triac / voltage/speed controller (http://www.tradem...=948769066)
Burn Chamber/Coupling - S/S Pipe as above
Burner - LPG Camping Stove mushroom style burner c/w needle valve (http://www.marine...tion-stove)
0-55psi LPG Gas Regulator
Customwood box ? homemade
Chaff Collector ? copied from Tamarians design

The blower is overpowered and will lift 1.5 ? 2kg kg of beans and will lift the empty RC off the burn chamber at 100% speed
I run it at 25-30% for 250g load of green beans