Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
storing roasted beans
alext
Great experiment and thanks for sharing it. Since there are 2 factors involved, vacuum sealing and freezing I wonder how much one or the other contributes.

ChicagoJohn

alext wrote:

Great experiment and thanks for sharing it. Since there are 2 factors involved, vacuum sealing and freezing I wonder how much one or the other contributes.

Good question, and there are many others that could be pursued; effects of type of storage container, materials of construction, vacuum vs air vs nitrogen or carbon dioxide, storage temperature, interaction of storage temperature and the previous parameter values, and so on.

My interest, however, is in solving a practical problem; that being how to get through extended periods of time when it is impractical for me to roast due to inclement weather conditions -- primary in the winter months. From my background as a chemist, I thought it reasonable to assume that reducing temperature would favorably affect chemical reaction rates; a rule of thumb for 1st order reaction kinetics is a doubling of rate for every 10C increase in temperature, so going from 23C down to -4C might slow any reactions to about 1/7 of what they would be at room temperature.

At the same time, reactant concentrations also affect rates, so reducing oxygen availability by vacuum, should be advantageous - flushing with nitrogen or carbon dioxide even better, but I didn't have that option. In a freezer situation where there is sufficient head apace in the container, ice crystals can vaporize (sublime) and condense on container surfaces, a phenomenon that is often evident when opening packages of vegetables that have been a freezer for a long time. So minimizing air space by drawing a vacuum should be helpful in minimizing this effect as well.