Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Newbie from Yerevan, Armenia
vahegan
Hi everyone!

My name is Vahe Ganapetyan, and I live in Yerevan, Armenia.

I am a newbie, in home roasting, and I am very glad to have just discovered this forum!

I purchased an espresso machine (Saeco Intuita HD8750/19) this January, and then started investigating into coffee. Upon some reading on the subject, I found out about the benefits of fresh roasted coffee, and decided to go home roasting.

In the process, I decided to make my own popcorn-machine based roaster machine, adding an Arduino-based PID control. I just posted details of my project in this thread.

allenb
Hi Vahe and please accept a late welcome to HRO! I'm not sure we've had many members if any from Armenia and hopefully we'll have more in the future. Do you know of others in Yerevan that homeroast? I've looked over your popper and it is very impressive and well executed.

Post often!

Allen
1/2 lb and 1 lb drum, Siemens Sirocco fluidbed, presspot, chemex, cajun biggin brewer from the backwoods of Louisiana

ginny
Vahe:

that is one fine roaster; may I ask where you get some of your beans from?

also nice video up posted, thanks.

ginny

vahegan

allenb wrote:

Hi Vahe and please accept a late welcome to HRO! I'm not sure we've had many members if any from Armenia and hopefully we'll have more in the future. Do you know of others in Yerevan that homeroast? I've looked over your popper and it is very impressive and well executed.

Post often!

Allen

Hi Allen!

When I was a kid, I remember my granny used to homeroast in a large pan on the stove. Many people did that at the time. Then, we went to a local grinder with my granddad, and he made for us a very fine powder for turkish-style coffee. That's what most people tend to drink here. We did this once a week, to always have a fresh coffee.