Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Rainfrog's Roastmaster Software
Barrie
Roastmaster software from Rainfrog, Inc.
http://rainfroginc.com/

Most of us understand the general concept of databases and, over the years, many will have kept certain types of data, particularly numeric, on a spreadsheet such as Microsoft Excel. Essentially, this is a flat-file database that relates items on the vertical axis to another set on the horizontal axis ? the rows and columns with which we are familiar in tables. Some of us have used this for keeping roasting records.
Roastmaster is relational database software introduced some time ago to keep track of all those good things that we roasters would like to remember. It is intended for use with an iPhone, iPod or, most recently, an iPad. I am new to roasting and was in the process of putting together a relational database to keep track of things, using Microsoft Access, when I came across Roastmaster. It looks very useful to me, and I am surprised there is not more discussion about it on the forum. Perhaps this new thread will invite comment from users much more experienced with it than me. I have only owned it a few days, so bear with me.
Let?s go back to the beginning. What exactly is a relational database and how could it help in the world of home roasting? As opposed to the two dimensional flat-file recording permitted by Excel, one can think of a whole series of additional files, each containing key data (that one only needs to enter once) that are all linked together. This permits all sorts of searches and reporting, using related data from any or all the files.