Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
New Members - May Start Here !
allenb

xengineer wrote:
Hi HomeRoasters! My name is Charles Nemeth, retired electrical engineer, living in Toronto, Canada. I am relatively new to the entire coffee-universe as I only started regularly drinking coffee and espresso about 10 years ago. After spending some time in Costa Rica and tasting different local beans, I got hooked on good coffee. I quickly realized the difference freshly custom-roasted coffee can make, and after researching the possibilities and especially finding Homeroasters, I decided to make my own roaster. This is what lead me to sign up here now and share what I think is a new take on an old idea: after performing some electrical and thermal measurements, I modified a Stir-Crazy popper and make controllable and repeatable roasts without using the Turbo convection oven. I have done 5 batches, up to 200 g, of Costa Rican Tarrazu until now. My wife and I brew the espresso using a simple Bialetti, and we love the richness of the flavor.
If there is real interest, I will post the details of the Stir-Crazy modification, which is fairly simple and inexpensive. Just post a reply if interested, with the suggested forum where to post it.
Happy roasting!
Charles

Charles,

It's great to have you on board! Please post away under "All About Roasting" - "Popcorn Popper Roasting". I'm definitely interested and haven't seen much posted about this type of non-fluidbed popper so it should get some extra attention.

If possible please post photos as well!

Allen
Edited by allenb on 02/20/2012 7:03 PM
1/2 lb and 1 lb drum, Siemens Sirocco fluidbed, presspot, chemex, cajun biggin brewer from the backwoods of Louisiana

gmtman
Hi Charles....my name is Greg and I am a new member myself. I would love to hear about the Stir Crazy modifications you made so please feel free to email me directly as I was looking at the Stir Crazy Turbo Roaster to get me started in the world of coffee roasting.