Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Honest opinion of BBQ roaster
6eight
I am new to the homeroasting community and need an honest opinion. My long term goal is to build a drum roaster for the house, but as most of you know that takes time, money, and...time. In the meantime I would like to retire my popcorn popper and move to a roaster that can handle a larger batch size (.5# - 2# and most importantly one I can afford. There has been a lot of information I've come acrossed about bbq drum roasters and being I currently own 5 grills (it's the chef in me) I thought this might be the best short-term alternative.

What I would like to know is how good is this method and can it produce good coffee. I am sure much of it depends on the temperature the grill can reach, the type of drum, and the qualtiy of the beans. All of this aside I am more interested in the flavor that is achieved roasting beans this way.

Thanks!
Edited by 6eight on 11/01/2010 10:45 AM
?I cook with wine. Sometimes I even add it to the food.? ? W.C. Fields

seedlings
I have tasted fantastic coffee from BBQ roasters, and there are a great many successfully roasting right now. Though, in my attempts I couldn't recreate their success for myself. If you live in the midwest or north, roasting outside in the winter can be rough. If you want to roast 1 to 1.5# cheaply and repeatably, you should also consider the heatgun + breadmaker.

CHAD
Roaster: CoffeeAir II 2# DIY air roaster
Grinder: Vintage Grindmaster 500
Brewers: Vintage Cory DCU DCL, Aeropress, Press, Osaka Titanium pourover

6eight
I picked up a bread maker about 6 months ago and I already have a heat gun. I may have to reseach that setup a bit. Thanks!

John Despres
Everything I've heard about BBQ drum roasting has been very positive.

RK Drums are very good and I've heard nothing but positive things about them.

http://www.rkdrum.../index.htm