Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Presto Poplite Popper: Mod
kurt_hulst
My name is Kurt. I am new to the scene of roasting. I have started my endeavors with the Presto Poplite Popper. I have had a hard time finding the side fan blower poppers (like the Poppery I, & II) that were rated over 1040 watts, and could only find the bottom screen poppers @ 1400 watts or more. I bought a Presto Poplite and roasted around 6 (1/2cup) batches ( Ethiopian Yirgacheffe) unmodified, which actually turned out really nice.

I decided I wanted more control and longer roasts so I modified it with a 1500 watt http://www.amazon...00_details slide dimmer for the heating coils and a regular 600 watt knob dimmer for the fan connected through a radio shack 25.2v (2.0 amp) transformer http://www.radios...Id=2102703. I placed an instant read dial thermometer http://www.amazon...00_details to measure the temperature and added a hurricane lamp chimney that I bought from Good Will, as I had too many beans hopping out with the plastic popper lid. I also added some bolts to the bottom to help lean the roaster back to help with bean agitation. I have roasted 4 (1/2 cup) batches with great success since completion of the mod. Each roast I stopped just as they entered the second crack. My first roast was around 12:30 minutes. I had one today at 16:00 minutes including cooling time (outside temp 35 f). I like that I can just cut the heat element and run the fan as it cools the beans quickly, especially in this temperature.

midwestchasers.com/blog2/wp-content/gallery/coffee/roaster1.jpg

midwestchasers.com/blog2/wp-content/gallery/coffee/roaster2.jpg

midwestchasers.com/blog2/wp-content/gallery/coffee/roaster3.jpg

midwestchasers.com/blog2/wp-content/gallery/coffee/roaster4.jpg

I always take every thing off the cookie sheet before I plug in my control box. I use the sheet to pour the cooled beans out on to help continue in cooling. Just roasted some Brazil Sweet Yellow Bourbon today.