Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Coffee and Math
Bbriann
Hi All,

This is my first post. I'm joining as an avid roaster these days because I derived a very simple equation that helps me choose how long to roast my beans for. I'm a newbie, so I'm still roasting on the 1970's Harvest Gold Popaire 2 side air popper from my youth. It's a low 1050 watt machine that is very sensitive to ambient air temperature changes outside. So, my roast times can very from 9-16 minutes which makes it particularly challenging to nail a medium espresso roast.

I was about to get a drum roaster, but in my hesitation I decided to take the data and see if I could come up with an equation that would incorporate outside air temperature and humidity. After that I added bean mass and wattage, and then tested on my neighbors roaster, which was 1200 watts for comparison. With a slight modification to my equation I had two identical roast from two different machines, but my 1050 watter took 3 minutes longer.

The other issue I have with my roaster is that I can only roast a couple times a day, and small batches at that. After the machine heats up, the following roasts go too quickly and I get off flavors. So, I got into the habit of roasting every morning when I woke up until I had lots of beans built up. I pulled my equation into a web page using java script so I can type in air temperature and then calculate the roast time on my phone, and then start the timer and walk away. I don't have to listen for cracks or anything. It just works.