Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
1lb Fluidbed build, progress and photos
Erichimedes
Well, I've been researching now for about a month, and getting my supplies together. I've got a design nailed down, and I'm going for it. A lot of the elements here aren't new to you guys. I think a lot of you have got this stuff pretty figured out. This is just my little iteration of it.

I'm a welder, and so I think I've taken the approach that most suits me. I'm a big fan of simple, so that's my attempt here.

Things I wanted out of a roaster:
-Ability to do 1lb of green
-To try recirculation
-Full manual control with the ability to automate in the future
-Compact, able to break it down to fit in a (large) kitchen cabinet
-To be able to run on under 20 amps. The house I live in is 130 years old, and the electrical is scary, to say the least. We also don't have 220.

So I've completed the blower/heater assembly. It's pretty simple. The whole thing will mount on the 4 holes in the rectangular flange at the top and pretty much hang in the center of the enclosure. The blower is a 5.5 amp flow-though from a mini vac, and the heating element is a HAS-043. The roast chamber will attach via tri-clamp fittings and a silicone gasket.

This is the progress so far, I'll start on the enclosure this week.

i51.photobucket.com/albums/f400/Weasel9/IMG_1284.jpg

Parts and pieces before welding.

i51.photobucket.com/albums/f400/Weasel9/IMG_1290.jpg

And the whole thing assembled.

tamarian
Very clean work!

Not sure if the rubber parts will be a problem with heat recirculation. Do they have a heat rating on them? May not be a problem if you will only circulate a small percentage. Not talking from experience though, just wondering if it will be an issue.

Welding skills open a lot of DIY possibilities in building stuff, I'm just starting to learn about arc welding to clean up my builds.

Looking forward to your progress.
Wa'il. 1 Kg PID'ed gas-fired fluid bed roaster, GS/3MPS, K10F