Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Extend Time to 1C with Air Crazy
IntrepidQ3
I am new to roasting and it has come to my attention that getting to 1C in ~3min is to quick.

I did take off the therm governor on the chamber.

I have been able to extend the roast about a 1 min, I use to get 1C ~2min. To do this I have tilted the popper a bit and stir the batch with a wooden spoon. I also leave the plastic air scoop off to allow the heat to escape.

Has anyone found an effective way to add cooler air into the chamber though the bottom of the unit? This is the only thing I can think of doing, besides for flipping the on/off switch though out the roast or tossing the beans back and forth from the popper to a colander (this is my last resort).

Any suggestions are welcome!

_ _ _

Additional information that may or may not be helpful.

I use 80g of green beans. I have used less 10g the roast extends only 30 seconds. If I go lower than that it take over 6 min to get to 1C, but than I only get enough beans to make 1 or 2 cups of coffee...

My last roast looked like this, time are very close for any bean I have roasted:

Ethiopia Kaffa:
1C starts: 3:27 min
1C ended: 4:00 min
End roast: 5:25 min

Roast lvl: FC

snwcmpr
Welcome to HRO.
Have you read any of the threads on modifying the popper?
Separating the fan and heat wiring and controlling the heat?
There are more than a few ways to do it, and much has been written on it. And much depends on the model of popper you have.
But, one would have to be a bit handy with tools. But, since you roast your own instead of buy at the store, I can safely assume you are one of us.
Best to you,
Ken in NC
--------------
Backwoods Roaster
"I wish I could taste as well as I wish I could roast."

As Abraham Lincoln said "Do not trust everything you read on the internet".

IntrepidQ3
Indeed. I have no aversion to tinkering!