Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Gas Fired Drum Roaster - Lets Build It
Turingalad
(Someone let me know if I'm jacking this thread... I'd be happy to post elsewhere if more appropriate.)

Allen,

I've got a 1k solid drum roaster, and I'm wanting to improve my propane setup from the ground up.

For immediate purposes, I'm interested in having adequate BTUs/gas power, and a way to gauge BTU's/bars/PSI/water column (like I said, I'm a novice with LP).

I'm also interested in what it would take to get a setup like Russ... Automated.

I know my current setup is underpowered because my flames look more like a bunch of Bic lighters and less like a torch. It wasn't always like this. Perhaps my new (used) propane tank/hose are different than the ones I had before?

I just don't have any gauges/controls on the line, other than a manual gas-line on/off valve (see pics) that I tweak as I roast, watching the height/color of flame, and keeping an eye on my machine temp thermometer.

I purchased my roaster from a guy who made them in his garage, and have lost touch, so I don't know exact specs on everything.

Pics of my setup:
1. Burner: https://drive.goo...cslist_api
2. Intake: https://drive.goo...cslist_api
3. More pics:
https://drive.goo...JfRlk/edit
4. Even more pics:
https://drive.goo...VKSU0/edit

The burner is nearly identical to one of these Outdoor Burner/Fryers (minus the frame, of course) http://www.turkey-fryers.com/SQ14_propane_patio_stove.htm

What do I need to gauge gas pressure?

What's ideal gas power for a 1k setup like mine? (And how to know if what I have is adequate).

Side question, while I'm thinking about it...
After I work out my gas setup to gauge/adjust accurately, I'd like to figure out a good starting point for using my setup to run small samples (I've never been able to get a good batch under 1Lb...)

Thanks

-Devin

allenb

(Someone let me know if I'm jacking this thread... I'd be happy to post elsewhere if more appropriate.)