Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
How do YOU blend for espresso?
threwitallaway
Some espresso aficionados rely on "SO" or, a Single origin to run through their espresso machines. Others blend two or more coffees to get more balance/variety of flavor from their extractions. If you blend, do you do so BEFORE roasting or AFTER roasting; including differing roast levels of the beans? How do you do it, and would you care to share your favorite blend/method with the forum? (You don't have to though!)

Just curious

-n8

Bodka Coffee
My most popular espresso is Main Squeeze. I pre blend it. The Guatemalan espresso blend I do is a melange, and therefore is post blended.
USRC 5 kg

HoldTheOnions
I have found blending is more likely to improve flavors of average roasts than to hurt them for reasons I can't know. If I am experimenting, then I usually throw the duds together after tasting with better results. Exception being if I burn a roast.

I have never tried blending before roasting, but it sounds interesting.

fransg
In a book about roasting I just read about a method of blending that I had never heard about before: instead of mixing different types of beans, mix different roasts of the same bean. One advantage is that you can save on buying stock from different sources, the moisture % of the green beans is obviously the same, and you can mix a lighter roast with a darker roast profile.
HG One & Londinium I -- Mazzer Mini E & Rocket Giotto -- La Pavoni's -- Fracino Roastilino with PXG4 - Artisan - Tonino

HoldTheOnions

fransg wrote:

In a book about roasting I just read about a method of blending that I had never heard about before: instead of mixing different types of beans, mix different roasts of the same bean. One advantage is that you can save on buying stock from different sources, the moisture % of the green beans is obviously the same, and you can mix a lighter roast with a darker roast profile.