Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
sinner7's 5-7kg Fluid-bed in the works...
sinner7
Hello all, I've been a forum lurker for a while now and have decided to document my 2nd roaster build. I've been roasting on my galloping gourmet for a few years and I'm ready for a bigger hobby. Another chimney fluid bed design similar to roaster rob's designs. Though mine is called the hexa- roaster for the shape of the chamber hexagon. Here is the chamber rough welded. I'm working with a local welder and fab shop to fab the steel parts.
I'm buying and fabricating parts as I can afford it so it'll be a while to complete it. The picture of the roast chamber is upside down.

sinner7 attached the following image:
hexchamber.jpg

Edited by ginny on 04/06/2015 4:15 PM

sinner7
I've ordered the sievert 2941 and read that it's rated for 2bar pressure (30psi). Rob is stated he's maxing it out at 4bar (60psi) for 7kg. Anyone else blasting it that much? I could order a 2942 for cold weather MN, not sure if it's needed for 5-7kg. Also need to pick a vacuum motor to loft 5-7kg...thinking about these based on forum posts:

AMETEK-LAMB-116765 - 3stage or Ametek-Lamb-115334 2stage

Any thoughts on these moving 7kg?

Thanks for the tips, I'll post some more pics soon.

Aaron

JETROASTER
I think you'll have better results from the 115334.
Cheers, Scott

JETROASTER
I've gone through both spec sheets.
Generally, the 3 stage(w/5.7" fans) will provide higher pressure, the 2 stage (w/7.2" fans) will provide better flow.
Given the design path it looks like you're taking, I feel the 7.2" will serve you better(at operating pressures below 28" H2O)
If you start operating at back pressures above 28" of H2O, then the 3 stage starts to become more effective at maintaining airflow.

I can send the specs if needed. Cheers, Scott

sinner7