Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
1st Roaster, basic design idea. Lemme know!
unclevarda
Hello all,

This is my first post, and I'm totally new to this whole hobby.

I've spent around 8 hrs on here and have narrowed it down to a fluidbed roaster.

I have a bunch of stuff lying around that I could use from my homebrewing hobby

for a fan:

http://www.homede.../204221344

It's a 175 CFM duct fan

I have a SSR controller with a pot to change the fan speed

I have an airgun, but may need another one

And I have a pyrex bake around.

So I'm thinking tomorrow heading out to home depot and getting some ducting to put it all together

Here is a horrific drawing

admin waiting for image to post

I would like to keep the heatguns whole.

Not sure how I would attach the pyrex aside from RTV siliconing the whole mess together.

There is a great community here and I've learned a lot already! Thanks for any input
Edited by ginny on 12/28/2015 10:38 AM

unclevarda
oh I suppose on the bottom of the pyrex I'll need some sort of mesh to keep the beans. How vital is the diffuser plate? will a mesh not give the right movement of the beans?

allenb
Welcome to HRO! For a fluidbed using a perf plate to allow a standard spouting bed to occur you're going to need more static pressure than the fan you've got can provide. It appears to be limited to a little less than 2" WG. I can't remember what the lowest pressure is that will achieve a decent lift with a plate designed for spouting bed but I'm guessing around 5" minimum.

http://vortexpowe...om/vtx-400

If you use a flat bottomed, full coverage perf plate which produces a random fluid action as with the Freshroast and Sono Fresco, it may be enough pressure.

Hopefully others here at HRO can chime in on what the minimum pressure actually is.

BTW, make sure you use the "makes URL clickable" button (fifth button from the left below) with your URL's so folks can get to your stuff without doing gymnastics.

Happy building!

Allen