Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
1 KG Roaster
eschlukebir
Hi everyone,

I've been roasting for a couple years on a behmor, but I'm getting bored and have been considering upgrading. After looking pretty hard at the quest. The batch size makes me think I won't be happy there for real long either. I think my best bet is probably going to be to build one myself. I think I have access to people and resources to make it happen. Of course pretty much everything I know about roasters I have learned on this board. So I'm looking for a little help/confirmation and advice. I'm still in the concept/research phase but I want to make sure I am on the right track and start gathering components

Here is what I am hoping to build

up to 1KG.- more interested in being able to do batches smaller than 1k.
Propane pipe burner-
more interested in simple and functional than fully automated.

First question is about the drum. Mill City's 1kg roaster drum dimensions are 8.5x9. Is this a good place to start or would something a little smaller be better given i'll more often be doing 1lb batches than 1kg.

allenb
Welcome to HRO!

I'm using a 7" x 7" in my gas fired drum roaster and I've roasted up to 1 1/4 lb batches with no crowding issues but if you're wanting to occasionally roast up to 1kg, I would go with Mill City's size to be safe. A little extra capacity won't cause any issues with your ability to maintain a nice profile.

Allen
1/2 lb and 1 lb drum, Siemens Sirocco fluidbed, presspot, chemex, cajun biggin brewer from the backwoods of Louisiana

eschlukebir
Thanks. that is helpful.

a couple questions on the burner. Looking at something like Russ' setup here http://forum.homeroasters.org/forum/viewthread.php?thread_id=4189&pid=52175#post_52175