Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Poppery I Heat Control
prometheusluomenos
I'm sure there are a million other threads that cover this, but I'm struggling to understand how to improve my poppery.

I've been using a Poppery I for a few years now, and I''ve never been satisfied with heat control. I'd used a Harbor Freight speed control, but I cam to really hate the tangle of wires that seemed to always be in my way.

Then I switched to a lamp dimmer that was small enough that I could attatch it to the housing of the roaster by simply drilling a hole for the dial. But naturally I burned out several dimmers and so I'm tired of that.

Will something like this work to control the heat:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-110-220V-2000W-SCR-Voltage-Regulator-Dimmer-Speed-Temperature-Controller-/381829474060?hash=item58e6cf670c:gGrinX4AAMXQh8NTdcK2

Separately, can anyone explain the importance of controlling fan speed? I've always run a batch size of 150g, which is as much as I can get moving. Is it important to turn the fan down after the drying phase has decreased the weight? I would love more fan power to increase the batch size, but I can't tell if the high cost of a Variac really would be worth it.

Thanks!

BenKeith
I think fan speed mainly comes into play when you are trying to overload the heating element and have to reduce the fan speed so it can get hot enough to take the beans to your finishing temp. or when you are trying to do smaller roast to reduce the amount of bean movement. To much air can suck too much moisture out of the beans. To the point you can see light roast with as much as 18% weight loss. If you use the same volume of beans everytime and it's what the roaster can take to the end of roast temp, you probably have no need to control the fan speed. Some like to slow the beans down when reach the end of FC. Others have to manually stir greens beans until the roaster can move them on their own so they don't have too much movement at the end.