Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
First roasting
pandiani
Good evening, today was the first day of my life that I have roasted.
I used a popcorn popper, bypassing the bimetallic thermostat.
? as the temperature reaches around 230 degrees Celsius.
I used 100 gr. bean, and the times were 8.30 minutes.
The only thing is that the temperature rises too fast and difficult to control.
I have to find a solution.
Anyway, I'm happy with the result
pandiani attached the following image:
wp_20161110_12_47_55_pro.jpg

ChicagoJohn
I have some experience with a modified popcorn popper but none with one supplied by 220VAC. JackH mentioned that some people have found they can reduce the power going to the heating coils by using a long extension cord. Anything you do to reduce the voltage will also reduce the power to the blower fan.

You might want to try using fewer beans; like around 80 grams; to see what effect that has. The bean quantity can restrict air flow and that may result in more heat building up in the roasting chamber. It would be something to try in addition to a long extension cord approved for the wattage of your roaster.

Finally, as someone else mentioned, when you have gone a little beyond first crack, you should try turning off the power to your popper and immediately dumping the contents onto a surface that will allow them to cool quickly, such as a screen or metal colander that will allow air to pass through, and you may use a fan to blow air onto the beans as well. Cool them down as fast as you can after a brief time, around 15 - 30 seconds, after first crack and before second crack starts.

If at some future time, you decide to power the blower motor separately as described in other places on these forums and elsewhere on YouTube and other places on the internet, you will then be able to switch off the heater power while running the blower at full power, and this will cool the beans from 200C to under 100C in a minute or two.