Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Roaster Recommendations
Luscombe1940
Hi,
My name is Gary and I am a coffee addict.
A bit of my journey before asking for suggestions.

I have been roasting green beans for about 15 years.

Roasters:
I started with an air popper, then HGDB, then SCTO then mods to the air popper, a DIY perforated brass drum roaster on my gas grill and finally to an RK stainless drum for my gas BBQ Grill.

Brewing:
Along the way I also explored brewing options including the dreaded Mr.Coffee, pour over, Moka pot, Cona vac brewing, Technivorm drip, pour over, Heat Exchanger Espresso, double boiler espresso, Aero press.

Grinders:
Whirrly blade, cheap burr grinder, used-restored super jolly, Barratza Encore, Hario, zassenhaus, LIDO 2, Mahlkonig.

Current coffee bar setup:
Pour Over: Barratza grinder, Bonavita teapot, Hario cone.
Espresso: Mahlkonig grinder, Vivaldi II S1, DB Espresso
Travel set up: LIDO II and Aero Press

I have become a coffee snob and drink pretty much just what I roast.
Will occasionally try roasts from smaller distributors.

So here is my question.

I am looking for a roaster that will give me repeatable results.
One that I can program profiles and control the roast temps. I typically roast 1/2# to 1# at a time. So roaster capacity is 1# max. I would consider 1/2# max on the right roaster for me.

I am not interested in creating a coffee roasting business, this is for personal consumption only. although I do gift a lot of fresh roasted coffee. Over the years I have been looking at the commercial home roasters and have noticed that there are significant compromises and sometimes quality issues. the commercial roaster have much higher price points.