Members Online: 0

Total Members: 8,165
Newest Member: Ramper

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
TC4 Shield / Arduino Uno / LCDapter
judoclimb
Hi. I need help with the LCDapter on Arduino Uno/TC4 shield.

I am just starting to learn the Arduino Uno/TC4 shield, so that I can take my coffee roasting to a new level. I have been using analog potentiometers to manually control the heat coil and fan of my customized WB Poppery. My roasting process has consisted of getting readouts from a digital temperature gauge, manually entering in the temperature every 30 seconds, entering the values manually in Excel, and making real-time adjustments to the potentiometer.After extensively reading about the work that others have done on automating this process using a PID, I decided to take a crack at it.

What I have currently.
- Arduino Uno
- TC4 Shield, v6.0
- LCDapter-Complete
- Sketch: aArtisanQ-PID v6.3
- Library: aArtisan_STDLib-400

Issue: I have been able to assemble the Arduino/TC4/LCDapter and compile/upload the Sketch using Arduino software via USB connection (nothing else is connected to TC4, such as ZCD, SSRs, or thermocouples). The issue is that the
1) LCD does not turn on,
2) when I run the Serial Monitor > command "chan,1234" > command "read", there is no output.

After trying many different things, I can obtain the expected output with the same commands ("# Active channels set to 1234", "77.7, 70.4, 74.4, 74.2,74.9"), ONLY WHEN THE LCDAPTER IS DISCONNECTED. Also, I noticed that the LED on pin 13 of the Arduino board stays on when the LCDapter is connected, but it turns off if it is not connected.

Is this an issue, or would this be sorted out once I start connecting the other components like the ZCD, SSRs, and thermocouples?

Thanks in advance.

greencardigan
Hi and welcome!

Have you modified the user.h file in the sketch to suit your setup? Let me know if you need help with the settings in user.h.