renatoa
04/18/2024 12:36 AM
bijurexim, greyberry2, N C, welcome2

renatoa
04/17/2024 9:27 AM
morning, branchu

renatoa
04/14/2024 5:56 AM
TheOtherJim and papajim, welcome to forum !

allenb
04/11/2024 6:33 PM
Zemona Welcome

In Memory Of Ginny
Donations

Latest Donations
dmccallum - 10.00
JackH - 25.00
snwcmpr - 10.00
Anonymous - 2.00
Anonymous - 5.00
Users Online
Guests Online: 2

Members Online: 0

Total Members: 8,212
Newest Member: eximwind

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Fluidbed roaster build... questions...
elkayem
Well, question (singular) really. I am anticipating that I will have more questions in the future, so will leave this thread open.

Earlier this year, I built my own automated popcorn popper roaster (https://forum.hom...ad_id=5509). I am still learning about the nuances of home roasting, but have been very satisfied (so far) with the quality of the beans that have come out of this little roaster. The problem is that I can only roast 3 oz at a time, which is not fast enough for my appetite.

I am now embarking on a larger fluid bed roaster. I think a 1/2 lb (227g) is probably enough for me, since that will last about a week. Let's round that up to 300g.

I have studied the threads in the Fluidbed subject, and have decided to copy parts of oldgearhead's design. I have procured a 3.5" diameter bake-a-round, cocktail shaker, 1700 Watt HAS-043K element, and 1.5"x12" pipe based on his design. I do not plan on doing any heat reclaiming, at least for now. Also, I intend to use a DC motor since I will be automating the motor speed via PWM and have no intention of messing around with automating a triac. Which brings me to my question...