Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Magnitude of temp change with probe movement
TallPaul
Hello All

I have been roasting for several months, and recently using modified hot air popcorn poppers. I have noticed in many threads that the placement location for the thermocouple is important to the temperature reading that one will get. My question is this ? if you have a thermocouple simply sitting on top of the bean mass when you start the roast, and as the roast increases in volume and covers the probe, can you get a very large rise in apparent temperature? I ask because as my probe becomes more and more submersed it appears to be in the middle of airflow coming up from the bottom of the chamber and my temperature seems to rise above a level consistent with the degree of crack going on. My probe was reading as high as 240?C today, and I?m still fairly certain that I wasn?t all the way through first crack. Either that, or my first crack is rolling right into my second crack. But I barely have any oil on the outside of the beans, so I?m fairly certain I did not get into second crack, nor do I have any smoke during the roast.

I think that I definitely have a problem with placement of the probe and that the temperature is going up substantially simply because it is effectively lower beneath the surface of the beans than it was at the beginning. I was wondering if anyone on the forum had noticed such a thing. I was having a hard time iggnoring the 240 C and letting my temperature continue to rise so that I could hit second crack. I find that my lack of temp consistency continues to make me shut the roast off probably at a time before I want to do so - because the Temp seems too high even though I doubt it is.