Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Easy PID tuning with Ziegler-Nichols
marcov
Hey,
I recently needed to tune the PID for my newly built popper.

After logging an open loop response with Artisan, I did not feel like printing the plot and drawing the Ziegler-Nichols "lines" manually.

So I started playing with Octave (the free version of MATLAB), and in the end I wrote a set of scripts to automatically compute Kp, Ki, Kd from an Artisan CSV log file. You also get a plot with what's need for Ziegler-Nichols (see attached picture).

You can find the code here: https://github.co...ov/pidtune

Have fun and let me know if something needs to be fixed.
marcov attached the following image:
example.jpg

renatoa
And some numbers for your machine ?
Better profile following ? Grin

There is a similar thread here:
https://forum.hom...ad_id=5598

... not aware that something changed since then, PID tuning is not easy, and not for a continuous moving target.

marcov
I got these for the step response above: : Kp = 12.10 Ki = 0.46 Kd = 79.86

I logged the step response from an empty machine, as I didn't want to "invest" some beans for the tuning.

About profile following, it's acceptable in the end.

I read some of your posts about the inadequacy of a stock PID for following a profile, and now I am curious to try out the proportional on measurement add on.
tuned.png

Wiz Kalita
The heat looks pretty jumpy, that's what I've gotten out of Ziegler-Nichols as well. As far as I understand it's made for quickly reaching a fixed target at the expense of stability in a non-integrating process. Whereas we have a moving target in a somewhat integrating process where stability is more important than responsiveness. I control on ET and use POM, Kp = 0.8, Ki = 0.2 and Kd = 0, and I have decent results on a popper. It's lagging behind the background a bit, but that's what lookahead is for.