Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Andyr
Hi all,

I am completely new to coffee roasting and am a little overwhelmed at the moment. I?ve borrowed a friend?s Behmor 1600 Plus and tried to follow the instructions in the manual and had an unsuccessful first batch. I don?t think I ever heard first crack, so I figured I missed it and because I didn?t want to burn the coffee I started the cooling process way to early. Basically I am clueless. I?ve read the manual over many times and also consulted a few articles on the net but I still find all the information about times and profiles confusing. Can someone give me simplified instructions if I want to roast a quarter pound of Guatemalan coffee using the 1600 Plus? I know I?m supposed to try four batches to get a feel for doing this, but I?d like some guidance before I do the next one.

Update since I wrote this: I spoke to my friend and got what I thought were simple instructions. She told me I couldn?t miss first crack, that it would be very loud, and to set the roaster for P2-C. I did that, and the next thing I knew ten minutes had gone by, and there was a 30-second countdown happening. At the end of the countdown I got an error message, err-7. Because I went to the Behmor website I now know that it?s the unattended safety shutoff feature licking in, and that I should have hit ?start? sometime during the countdown. As it was, I hit ?cool? and let the machine run it?s cycle.

I just tried again, hit ?start? a few seconds into that countdown. The machine reset itself with a time of around 8 minutes and went through to the cooling cycle, and it just now stopped, I still haven?t heard anything resembling a loud crack, so I have my doubts that I?ve made some good coffee! I?m continuing to let it cool before I take it out and look at it.

Any words of wisdom will be appreciated...

Thanks in advance!

Andy

allenb