Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
New 1kg drum roaster build
Erichimedes
Hello all! I haven't been very active on this forum lately, but I've built a few versions of an air roaster that has roasted hundreds of pounds of coffee for us. I took a bit of a break from roasting coffee, but I'm getting back into it, and I've decided to finally build a drum roaster. I've wanted to build one since I started roasting coffee, but I haven't had the means to do so until now. I'm a welder by trade and I build custom bicycle frames: https://mythcycle... So now that I have my own shop, I feel really ready to take on this project and do it justice.

So anyway, the plan is to build a 1kg (most of the time 2lbs) drum roaster that can be our weekly workhorse, but I'd really like if it can roast just 1lb as well. The air roaster can only do about 14oz of green beans, and it works great as our weekly roaster. But I really love giving coffee to friends and family as gifts, so I'm looking forward to the ability to do bigger batches, and hopefully with a little more consistency.

I was originally going to use electric heat, but I've decided to go with propane because I don't want it to require a high amperage 240v outlet to roast. I have visions of being able to take it places for special events, but who knows. I'm excited to try out propane however.

Anyway, on to the build! I started with the drum. A friend of mine had a piece of 8in stainless tubing that had about an 1/8" wall thickness, so I figured that would be perfect. He let me have 8in of it, so the drum is 8 x 8 which seems like it should be just right for 2lbs.

The band saw only cuts 7in round, so I had to rotate it and cut twice.
mythcycles.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/20190921_184817-e1569634877281.jpg