Who is here? 2 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Fluid Bed Roaster Build - bye bye Heat Gun and Flour Sifter
jbrux4
Hello. I am new to this site, but have been researching for quite some time. However, the amount of information has created a cloud.

I have committed to a fluid bed roaster beyond my current heat gun, flour sifter, and whisk method. I've been doing this for 3 years now, and there are limitations. However, fresh roasted is fresh roasted and, as long as my wife tells me it tastes better than store bought, I will keep supplying roasted beans. I just want to make them better.

What are my hopes here:
- to get assistance so that I build something that is safe to use and produces better results.

I used to brew beer and I still smoke delicious food. What this means is that I learn my equipment and get the most out of it. For example, with the smoker, I recognized flaws in the environment variable, so I sealed all mating points to lessen the amount of excess air from non-damper/baffle locations. But anyways......basically, I enjoy putting smiles on people's faces with good food and drink.

Here is what I have purchased and is on the way:
- Heating Element: Master Appliance, HAS-043K, 14.5A, 1740W, 110V, https://www.grain...-Kit-2A443
- Blower: Air Supply Florida, Ultra 9000, 1 HP, 4.5A, 105 CFM, 110V, www.amazon.com
- Variable Contoller: MLCS 9410 20-Amp Heavy Duty Router Speed Control, www.amazon.com
- Thermocouple: Omega, Rugged Pipe Plug Thermocouple Probe with 1/4 NPT Fitting, TC-K-1-4NPT-E-72, Type K, Exposed Junction, https://www.omega...s/p/TC-NPT
- Thermocouple Thermometer, Digi-Sense, EW-86460-03, https://www.colep...3?pubid=EW
I will test the variable controller against the element and the blower. If it works well on both then I will buy another. When I test the element, I will make sure to have air blowing over the element.