Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
New (to me) 1kg DIY roaster - Suggestions?
jscott14
First, I want to say that I posted this in the home roaster section of another popular coffee forum (which strongly warned against cross-posting). Yet the only response I received suggested that i post the question here! So, please forgive the corss-post.. I'm simply following orders. smile

I am somewhat new to home roasting (having cut my teeth on the original Behmor 1600), but recently found what I perceived to be a good deal on a custom-built drum roaster. This roaster was built for a coffee shop who roasted their own beans for a few years with it, but they finally outgrew it. It is a well-built, heavy machine, and was advertised as a 1kg unit. Based on the info I found here regarding bean quantity (0.1 x volume), that appears to be quite low. The drum is 15" (L) x 9" (D). By the formula, that equates to about 6 lbs, or at least 2.5 kg! I think I got an even better deal on this than I thought!

The unit is a propane/natural gas burner. It's lit electronically by a RobertShaw pilot light re-light system. The drum is driven by a 110v Dayton shaded pole 1/20hp gearmotor turning at 30 RPM.

I've posted pictures to help illustrate the unit, but as I've read other posts, the main drawback of, say, an RK drum set up on a BBQ grill is the LACK OF AIRFLOW. The design of this unit does not have a fan, but rather convection-based air movement... cold air intake low on one side of the unit, then a chimney up high on the other side. I can't post pictures in-line here, but i've attached some photos that show several views of the roaster... some with labels/verbiage for clarity.

Hopefully the pictures help paint a visual image of the main design aspects of the roaster. The perforated air intake is below the motor-mounting plate, and it does NOT allow for adjusting the air intake.