Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
CoffeeRoaster
jtemple967
I've been roasting coffee at home for a couple of years using hot air popcorn poppers exclusively and have gotten some good results but I know that in order to get more consistent results I'm going to have to up my game. At the same time I recognize that programs like Artisan might be a bit overkill for me. I just want a simple way to monitor temperature over time and somehow be able to reproduce a roast once I get good results.

So that's when CoffeeRoaster was born (I know...not a very clever name). And I know, there's several programs out there that do something similar but mine will take a somewhat different approach:
* Written in Python using Kivy as the graphical front end
* Should run on Windows/Linux/Mac/Android/iPhone/iPad
* There are 2 components to the setup: CoffeeRoaster and RoastServer. These will be IP based applications with the intent of having RoastServer be able to run on a different piece of hardware than CoffeeRoaster, if desired.
* The program will be open source. If someone wants to write a version of RoastServer that works with their setup that can be easily done since the server is separate.
* Profiles can be saved then shared with others using the same setup
* The program will be very easy to use
* A saved profile can be loaded then "replayed", letting the program control the temperature.

My current hardware setup is:
* CoffeeRoaster - Microsoft Surface Pro running Ubuntu 18.04
* RoastServer - RaspberryPI, Max31855 Temp. sensor, Solid State Relay

So I'm waiting on the arrival of my SSR, the first one I got was a dud. The program is largely written and unit tested but I'm waiting on the SSR for the final testing. Once that is complete I will make the githb repository public. In the meantime, here's a screenshot of CoffeeRoaster. The profile is totally bogus.

More details to follow!
jtemple967 attached the following image:
coffeeroaster.png

JackH
Welcome to Homeroasters!