Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
FARMERS MARKET ROASTING
ginny
This is the place to post your glorious stories of Farmer's Market Roasting.
Lynn reminded me that I have wanted to get something going on this for a long time.

Let's show our stuff, maybe some pic's at the market itself...

ginny

s:8s:8
Edited by ginny on 09/09/2007 10:28 AM

Kaffee Bitte
Well after I posted a shout about this I have recieved a good number of PM's asking questions so why not just post about it.

I have been roasting for myself about a year and a half now on air poppers, often also roasting for friends. The roasting for friends is what convinced me to build a BBQ roaster. Poppers are a hassle when trying to roast more than about a pound total. So I built the grill. I have been working as a barrista for about ten years now so I have built a pretty good name for myself in the area coffee scene (or what passes for one here in Helena). The idea to roast and sell at the market just naturally flowed from these two things.

When I was planning it all out I had wanted to roast the coffee on the spot or at least have the roaster there for if I ran out. But then I realized that most people aren't going to want to wait around for 30ish minutes to get their coffee. Plus I would only be roasting about a pound or two at a time that way. Not a very efficient usage of fuel. Instead I roast the day before the market and package it up then as well.

For the total hours of work put into getting ready it varies somewhat but I can say that Fridays are a very long day. Total roast time for 30-40 lbs of coffee at 2.5-5lbs per roast is around eight to twelve hours including cooling of the beans. Packaging and labeling is around three (unless I can get someone to help).