Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Both Manual and Digital contol?
km99
I hope this is the correct way/place to ask this question, I apologize if not....

I am currently building my second fluidbed roaster. This is my first attempt at automation. It will have heating element control with Artisan/TC4+/SSR. I am definitely way over my head here! But very excited to learn.

Here is my question: If my computer crashes or is lost, can I still control the heating element that the Artisan slider was controlling thru the SSR with say a potentiometer or something? I tried in vain to find the answers in previous threads. Sorry if this is clearly covered somewhere else.

Thank you all for your passion and information on such a fun hobby!

renatoa
TC4 allows connecting two potentiometers, for heater and fan control in standalone mode.
So you can take control, if the Artisan computer crashes.
You can even override the Artisan value sent via a slider using the pot, they are designed to work together using a leapfrog logic, whatever of them is moved will change the value until moved again, or the other slider/pot is moved to a new position.
Of course trying to do this using both Artisan and the pot will be very confusing Grin especially if no LCD provided for TC4.

One more thing you should be aware... there are specific ways to crash/reboot a computer that will led to reboot of Arduino too !
Fortunately Arduino reboots much faster and you can resume quickly the roasting, assuming you remember the approximate control level values when crash happened.

km99
That is a great explanation that even I could understand! Thank you so much.

km99