Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
2 lb Fluidbed Build
allenb
Until I possibly stumble on a successful bubblebed design, I'm going to build a 2 lb standard fluidbed using an asymmetrical bottomed 4" diameter aluminum tube. I've got the vacuum blower and 3kw heating element ready to go.

I've never built one this large before so if anyone has any wisdom to share for the build, please jump in and fire away. Is 4" diameter large enough for 2 lbs (.9 kg)? Roasterob seemed to favor this size chamber for this batch size to allow least kw per lb of beans.
I tried to reach him for comment but his email address is no longer valid. On that note, if anyone has contact info for him, let me know.
Edited by allenb on 04/08/2023 11:19 AM
1/2 lb and 1 lb drum, Siemens Sirocco fluidbed, presspot, chemex, cajun biggin brewer from the backwoods of Louisiana

greencardigan
Is that a 2 lb green mass?

I've only experimented briefly with an asymmetrical air roasters in the early stages of my building journey. So not sure how much assistance I can be. Although I've built 2 largish symmetrical spouting air roasters, 3.6kW and 5.4kW. I also had some input into my brother's 7.2kW roaster. All had > 4" diameter roast chambers. But I understand that a asymmetrical design is more efficient at circulating beans.

allenb
Yes, 2 lb green. I've been given a tip from another member that 4" is going to be too small and that the green height of 2 lbs in a 4" tube is very tall. With your own experience, what would you shoot for if you were to build one for 2lbs?
1/2 lb and 1 lb drum, Siemens Sirocco fluidbed, presspot, chemex, cajun biggin brewer from the backwoods of Louisiana

btreichel
I had one with a 6"diameter that worked well.

allenb
Let me know what size batch the 6" worked best with and also, how many kw it took.

CK
You may have seen this builder's roaster designs already, but here's a link to a video and his channel.

greencardigan

allenb wrote: